Wandering without return

By | 3 September 2019

Category:

The multidisciplinary exhibition Wandering without return will be presented at the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (National Museum of Fine Arts) from January 30, 2020 to January 31, 2021. Entrance will be free of charge.

THE EXHIBITION

Wandering without return is a unique immersive multimedia experience about the life of Rohingya refugees. A Muslim minority in Myanmar (formerly Burma) mainly Buddhist, this people has been persecuted for decades. With the escalation of violence and mass killings since 2016, the UN is now referring to a situation of genocide.

In 2018, the unprecedented exodus of the Rohingya people caught the attention of a documentary photographer from Québec, Renaud Philippe. He decided to go to southeastern Bangladesh to document this crisis and raise awareness about it. Moved by the photographer’s commitment and the power of his images as much as by the urgency and magnitude of the situation, Olivier Higgins and Mélanie Carrier decided to produce a feature documentary about it. In the fall of 2018, Olivier and Renaud went to collect images and testimonies of refugees from Kutupalong camp in southeastern Bangladesh. In just a few months, the place has become the largest refugee camp on the planet, home to more than 600,000 people.

Conceived by the filmmaking couple and produced by MÖ FILMS, in collaboration with Renaud Philippe, this multidisciplinary exhibition will immerse you in the daily life of Rohingya refugees. In addition to photographs, cinematographic extracts, soundscapes, testimonies and children’s drawings, the public will also find a hundred dioramas (miniature sculptures) from the artist Karine Giboulo.

The situation experienced by this people in exile challenges us all, wherever we are on the planet, inviting us to think about the interconnectedness and interdependence of human beings, and the importance of solidarity.  

THE PARTNERS OF THE EXHIBITION

This exhibition is presented with the support of the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, the Conseil de la culture de la région de Québec, the cultural development agreement between the Government of Quebec and Québec City, in collaboration with the Québec City Film Festival, Antitube, the United Nations Refugee Agency (UNHCR), Université Laval’s Interdisciplinary Research Community on Vulnerability (CRIV) and the extraordinary collaboration of Rohingya refugees from Québec city.

  • Olivier Higgins & Mélanie Carrier – Curators, designers and filmmakers (videos & soundscapes)
  • Renaud Philippe – Photography
  • Karine Giboulo – Visual arts (a hundred dioramas)
  • Rosalie Gamache – Visual arts (portraits)
  • Marie-Renée Bourget-Harvey – Scenographer et designer
  • Mohammed Shofi – A Rohingya living in Quebec City and collaborating to the exhibition
  • Louis-Robert Bouchard – Technical direction and illusionist projection (video mapping)
  • Kevin Dubois – Lighting
  • And the whole team of the Musée national des beaux-arts who supports us in our efforts.

 

Category:

Errance sans retour

By | 3 septembre 2019

Catégorie :

L’exposition multidisciplinaire Errance sans retour sera présentée au Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec du 30 janvier 2020 au 31 janvier 2021, et ce gratuitement !

L’EXPOSITION

Errance sans retour est une expérience immersive multimédia hors du commun portant sur la vie des réfugiés rohingyas. Minorité musulmane au sein du Myanmar (ex-Birmanie) majoritairement bouddhiste, ce peuple est persécuté depuis des dizaines d’années. Devant l’escalade de violence et les massacres à grande échelle perpétrés depuis 2016, l’ONU évoque désormais une situation de génocide.

En 2018, l’exode sans précédent du peuple rohingya a interpellé le photographe documentaire québécois Renaud Philippe qui s’est rendu sur place afin de mieux faire connaître cette crise au monde entier. Bouleversés par l’engagement du photographe et la puissance de ses images autant que par l’urgence et l’ampleur de la situation, Olivier Higgins et Mélanie Carrier ont décidé de réaliser un film documentaire sur le sujet. À l’automne 2018, Olivier et Renaud sont donc partis ensemble recueillir des images et témoignages des réfugiés du camp de Kutupalong, dans le sud-est du Bangladesh. En quelques mois seulement, l’endroit est devenu le plus grand camp de réfugiés sur la planète, abritant plus de 600 000 personnes.

Conçue par le couple de cinéastes et produite par MÖ FILMS, en collaboration avec Renaud Philippe, cette exposition multidisciplinaire vous immergera dans le quotidien des réfugiés rohingyas. En plus des photographies, extraits cinématographiques, ambiances sonores, témoignages et dessins d’enfants, le public pourra également découvrir une centaine de dioramas (sculptures miniatures) de l’artiste Karine Giboulo.

La situation vécue par ce peuple en exil nous interpelle tous, où que nous soyons sur la planète, nous invitant à réfléchir à l’interconnexion et à l’interdépendance des êtres humains, et à l’importance de la solidarité.

LES PARTENAIRES DE L’EXPOSITION

Cette exposition est présentée grâce au soutien du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, du Conseil de la culture de la région de Québec, de l’Entente de développement culturel entre le gouvernement du Québec et la Ville de Québec, en collaboration avec le Festival de cinéma de la ville de Québec, Antitube, l’Agence des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés (UNHCR), la Communauté de recherche interdisciplinaire sur la vulnérabilité de l’Université Laval (CRIV) et l’extraordinaire collaboration de réfugiés rohingyas de Québec.

 

  • Olivier Higgins & Mélanie Carrier – Commissaires, concepteurs et cinéastes (vidéos & ambiances sonores)
  • Renaud Philippe – Collaboration et photographies
  • Karine Giboulo – Arts visuels (une centaine de dioramas)
  • Rosalie Gamache – Arts visuels (portraits)
  • Marie-Renée Bourget-Harvey – Scénographe et designer
  • Mohammed Shofi – Rohingya habitant la ville de Québec et collaborant à l’exposition
  • Louis-Robert Bouchard – Direction technique et projection illusionniste (mapping vidéo)  
  • Kevin Dubois – Éclairage
  • Et toute l’équipe du Musée national des beaux-arts qui nous appuie dans nos démarches.

Category: